- Credential Identity and Exam Format at a Glance
- Fees, Eligibility, and Attempt Rules
- Test-Day Rules: Open Book, Tabs, and Calculators
- The Five Domains and Their Weights
- Domain-by-Domain Cheat Notes
- The NFPA 72 Edition Trap
- Renewal Math: Points, Hours, and CEUs
- Which Domain to Schedule When
- Where This Credential Gets Used
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The exam is 100 English-language multiple-choice questions in three hours, delivered at Prometric physical test centers only.
- Remote proctoring ended June 13, 2025, so plan for an in-person testing appointment.
- General Knowledge (26%) and Testing (25%) together make up 51% of the exam.
- The program specifies the 2016 edition of NFPA 72; do not assume a newer edition.
Credential Identity and Exam Format at a Glance
CFAITMS here means Certified Fire Alarm Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance Specialist for Facility Managers, a credential offered through the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). It is aimed at people who oversee, schedule, document, and verify fire alarm system work in buildings, rather than only the technicians who turn the screws. If you are still orienting yourself, the explainer What Is CFAITMS? and the breakdown What Does CFAITMS Stand For? cover the naming in more depth.
This page is the one-page review: the facts you should be able to recite before you sit down at a Prometric workstation. Use it as a checklist, then go deeper with the CFAITMS Study Guide for a full preparation plan.
| Item | What to Know |
|---|---|
| Administering body | National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) |
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Language | English |
| Time limit | Three hours |
| Delivery | Prometric physical test centers; remote proctoring ended June 13, 2025 |
| Initial application/exam fee | US$499 in official indexed pricing |
| Code reference | NFPA 72, 2016 edition |
| Format | Open book with the permitted official printed code |
Fees, Eligibility, and Attempt Rules
Eligibility
The entry bar is low on paper: a high school diploma or equivalent. The program does not state mandatory years of experience, reference letters, required training hours, or a practicum. NFPA training is optional, not a gate. That said, a low eligibility bar is not the same as a low difficulty bar, which is why the exam rewards candidates who know the code layout cold. The full eligibility picture is in CFAITMS Requirements.
Fees and Attempts
- Initial application and exam: US$499 in official indexed pricing.
- Attempts: up to three attempts during the 12-month eligibility period.
- Retests: require a retest application and a retest fee.
Because a failed first attempt means paying again, the cost of under-preparing is real. A complete pricing view, including retest and renewal costs, is in the CFAITMS Certification Cost breakdown.
Documents to Track
Current references are the accessible overview labeled 2025_V2 and the general handbook, 2025 Version 1. When two documents seem to disagree, check which is newer and which is the controlling handbook. The remote-proctoring change above is a good example of newer information overriding older wording.
Test-Day Rules: Open Book, Tabs, and Calculators
This is an open-book exam, but only with the permitted official printed code. Open book does not mean easy. With 100 questions in three hours, you have roughly one and three-quarter minutes per question on average, and any question that requires you to hunt through the code for the first time will cost you.
What Is Allowed in Your Reference
The handbook rules permit preparation of your printed code in specific ways.
- Advance notes and highlighting in the permitted printed code
- Permanent adhesive tabs
What Is Not Allowed
Anything that can move or fall out is a problem.
- Loose pages
- Movable notes, such as repositionable sticky notes
- A personal calculator
An on-screen scientific calculator is provided, so practice with an on-screen calculator rather than a handheld one. Breaks do not stop the clock, so any time away from your screen is time off your three hours.
The Five Domains and Their Weights
The exam content is divided into five approximate domains that total 100%. Treat the weights as approximate guides to emphasis, not exact question counts.
| Domain | Approximate Weight |
|---|---|
| Domain 1: General Knowledge | 26% |
| Domain 2: Inspection | 18% |
| Domain 3: Testing | 25% |
| Domain 4: Maintenance | 13% |
| Domain 5: Records | 18% |
Two facts matter here. First, General Knowledge is the largest single domain at 26%, with Testing right behind at 25%; together they account for 51% of the exam by simple arithmetic. Second, Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance sum to 56% (18 + 25 + 13), but that 56% should not be read as mapping exclusively to one chapter of the code. Candidates who assume the ITM domains equal a single chapter tend to under-prepare on the surrounding material. For a full discussion, see CFAITMS Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.
Domain-by-Domain Cheat Notes
Domain 1: General Knowledge (26%)
The broadest and heaviest domain. It covers the vocabulary and framework that every other domain depends on.
- Fire alarm system components and how they relate to each other
- Code terminology and definitions, which the questions use precisely
- The roles of owners, facility managers, and service providers in keeping a system compliant
- How to navigate the permitted code to locate a requirement quickly
Domain 2: Inspection (18%)
Inspection is the visual and physical verification side of the work.
- What an inspection looks for versus what a functional test demonstrates
- Inspection frequencies for different components and conditions
- Recognizing deficiencies and understanding what must be reported
- Who is qualified to perform and verify inspection tasks
Domain 3: Testing (25%)
The second-heaviest domain and the one most likely to include scenario and calculation-style questions, which is where the on-screen scientific calculator comes in.
- Test methods and test frequencies for initiating devices, notification appliances, and control equipment
- Acceptance testing versus periodic reacceptance testing concepts
- Interpreting the frequency tables rather than memorizing them from scratch
- What must happen when a system is impaired or taken out of service for testing
Domain 4: Maintenance (13%)
The smallest domain, but not one to skip.
- Maintenance versus inspection versus testing: know the distinction in the way the code defines it
- Corrective and preventive maintenance responsibilities
- Managing impairments and notifying affected parties
- Component service life and replacement considerations
Domain 5: Records (18%)
Records is where facility managers often have the most practical experience, and where code-specific retention and content rules appear.
- What must be documented after inspection, testing, and maintenance activities
- How long records must be retained and who must have access
- Contents of a complete record, such as dates, results, and who performed the work
- How documentation supports acceptance by the authority having jurisdiction
The NFPA 72 Edition Trap
Before you buy or tab anything, confirm the edition against the current handbook and overview documents. Then mark up that exact copy during study, so the layout you rely on in the exam room is the layout you practiced with. If you want a sense of where candidates tend to struggle with an open-book format, How Hard Is the CFAITMS Exam? walks through the difficulty factors, and CFAITMS Passing Score explains what is and is not publicly stated about scoring.
Renewal Math: Points, Hours, and CEUs
The credential renews on a three-year cycle. Requirements for renewal:
- At least 10 professional-development points in total
- Including at least seven training points, at one point per contact hour
- Documentation of the activities
- A renewal fee
The common point of confusion is the CEU conversion. One CEU equals 10 contact hours/points. That means the renewal requirement is not 10 CEUs; it is 10 points, which is the equivalent of a single CEU. Candidates who misread this overestimate the burden of renewal by a factor of ten. Keep certificates and attendance records as you go, since documentation is part of the requirement. For the career side of keeping the credential current, see Is the CFAITMS Certification Worth It?
Which Domain to Schedule When
Generic study advice matters less than ordering. Because General Knowledge supplies the vocabulary for everything else and carries the largest weight, start there. Because Testing is the second-heaviest and the most calculation-prone, give it the longest block. Inspection and Maintenance are closely related, so study them back to back to sharpen the distinction the code draws. Finish with Records, then spend the last stretch on timed full-length practice with your tabbed code.
General Knowledge (26%)
- Learn definitions and system components
- Tab and highlight the definitions and administrative chapters in your 2016 NFPA 72
Testing (25%)
- Work through the test methods and frequency tables
- Practice with the on-screen calculator style
Inspection (18%) and Maintenance (13%)
- Study the two together to lock in the differences
- Review impairment handling
Records (18%) and Timed Practice
- Memorize record contents and retention rules
- Run timed sets against the 100-question, three-hour format using the CFAITMS practice tests
Key Takeaway
Open-book exams reward navigation speed. Budget your practice so that you can locate any requirement in your tabbed code in well under a minute, and flag anything slower for extra tabbing or review.
Where This Credential Gets Used
The "for Facility Managers" framing points to the people who own the outcome of fire alarm compliance without necessarily performing every task by hand. Typical settings include building and property management, healthcare and educational campuses, commercial real estate, and facilities teams that coordinate vendors for inspection and testing. In those roles, the credential signals that you can read the code, interpret service reports, and keep records that stand up to a review by the authority having jurisdiction. Compensation varies widely by region, employer, and scope, so rather than quote unsupported figures, read the qualitative discussion in the CFAITMS Salary Guide and the role overview in CFAITMS Jobs.
If you want more background on what the credential is and how it is positioned, What Is CFAITMS Certification? is a good companion read, and CFAITMS Training covers optional preparation. For realistic practice against the exam style, return to the main practice test site.
Frequently Asked Questions
The exam has 100 English-language multiple-choice questions with a three-hour time limit. Breaks do not stop the clock, so plan your pacing around the full three hours.
No. The exam is delivered at Prometric physical test centers. Remote proctoring ended June 13, 2025, which supersedes older handbook language that mentioned it.
The program still specifies the 2016 edition of NFPA 72. Do not assume a newer edition. Bring the permitted official printed code, prepared according to the handbook rules, with permanent adhesive tabs and no loose pages or movable notes.
General Knowledge is the largest at 26%, followed by Testing at 25%. Together they make up 51% of the exam. Inspection and Records are each 18%, and Maintenance is 13%.
You do not need 10 CEUs. Renewal every three years requires at least 10 professional-development points, including at least seven training points at one point per contact hour, plus documentation and a fee. One CEU equals 10 contact hours/points, so the total requirement is roughly the equivalent of one CEU.